icon-animated-map Locating
Select your location

Board of Directors

Anthony (Tony) P. Franceschini

Chairman of the Board, Independent Director

Mr. Franceschini was appointed Chairman of the Board of ZCL in May 2012, and has been a director of the Corporation since 2009. He retired as President and Chief Executive Officer of Stantec, Inc., a publicly traded (TSX/NYSE) international engineering company in 2009. Mr. Franceschini joined Stantec in 1978 becoming Chief Executive Officer in 1998. He has served as a director of Stantec since the company became publicly traded in March 1994. Mr. Franceschini is also a director with Esterline Technologies Corporation (NYSE) and AECON Group (TSX) and two other private companies.

Ted Redmond

President & CEO (President & CEO Position Description)

Mr. Redmond is ZCL’s President and Chief Executive Officer effective September 10, 2018. Mr. Redmond was appointed to the Board of ZCL on November 1, 2018. Mr. Redmond brings over 20 years of experience as a CEO and Senior Executive of Manufacturing and Energy related businesses. Throughout his career, Mr. Redmond has lead 15+ M&A transactions, he has also led numerous organic growth initiatives and implemented rigorous process improvements resulting in higher margins and lower production costs. Early in his career, he also spent eight years as a Strategy Consultant with Boston Consulting Group where he was involved in many growth strategy consulting assignments. Mr. Redmond is currently a Board and Audit Committee Member of RGL Reservoir Management the leading provider of downhole slotted liners and screens to the Oil Sands industry. Mr. Redmond’s educational background includes a BSc. in engineering from the University of Alberta, a Masters’ degree in engineering from the University of Toronto, and an MBA from Stanford University.

Ronald (Ron) M. Bachmeier


Ron Bachmeier was appointed President & CEO and Director effective August 8, 2012. Mr. Bachmeier retired from ZCL effective September 7, 2018. Mr. Bachmeier previously held the position of Chief Operating Officer of ZCL since February of 2008 and COO of the US operations from February 2007, the date of acquisition of Xerxes Corporation. Prior to the acquisition of Xerxes Corporation by ZCL, Mr. Bachmeier was the Chief Financial Officer with Xerxes Corporation, which he joined in 1986. Mr. Bachmeier previously served on the board of the American Composites Manufacturers Association (ACMA).

D. Bruce Bentley

Heath Safety and Environment Commitee Chair, Independent Director

Mr. Bentley is the Chairman of Maclab Development Group and Maclab Properties Group, both Edmonton based, privately held real estate management and development companies. Mr. Bentley previously held the role of President and CEO of Maclab Enterprises from January, 1998 to December, 2016. Mr. Bentley currently serves on the boards of numerous private companies and charitable organizations. Mr. Bentley has a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Alberta.

Diane Brickner

Independent Director

Ms. Brickner is currently the Vice Chairman of the Board of Peace Hills General Insurance (“Peace Hills”), a licensed, general insurance company servicing Western Canada. She was the President and CEO of Peace Hills General Insurance from 1990 to January 2015 and also from October 2016 to March 2017. Ms. Brickner has served as a director of Peace Hills since 1991. Ms. Brickner is currently a board member of ALIEX, a reciprocal insurance company for the Alberta Law Society, as well as a director with Go Venture of the Saville Community Sports Centre. Ms. Brickner has also served on the boards of CanElson Drilling Inc. from 2014 to 2015, Western Financial Group from 2006 to 2012, the Insurance Bureau of Canada from 2001 to 2014, and NAIT from 2009 to 2016.

Leonard A. Cornez

Audit Committee Chair, Independent Director

Mr. Cornez is an executive of Sanjel Energy Services Inc., a Calgary based, cementing and acidizing services company, since May, 2016. In the past he was also an independent consultant providing business advisory and financial services in the energy, mining and technology industries. Mr. Cornez was the Chief Financial Officer of BOS Solutions Ltd. from 2008 to December, 2015. Mr. Cornez was also the senior financial officer of Pacific Iron Ore Corporation (TSX:POC) from 2007 to 2011. Mr. Cornez was the Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of Enerflex Systems Income Fund (TSX:EFX) from 2004 to 2007, and Vice President Finance for Terasen Pipelines (Trans Mountain) Inc. from 2003 to 2004. Mr. Cornez is a Chartered Accountant (Alberta) and a Certified Public Accountant (Illinois) with a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Calgary.

Joseph Gysel

Independent Director

Mr. Gysel is President of EPCOR (USA) Inc., formerly EPCOR Water USA Inc., an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of EPCOR Utilities Inc. (“EPCOR”) since 2011. Mr. Gysel joined EPCOR in 2000 and has served in a variety of roles including Senior Vice President Water Development and New Business Ventures. Mr. Gysel currently serves on the Board of Directors for the National Association of Water Companies as well as the Morrison Institute Kyl Center for Water Policy Arizona State University. He is also an advisor to the University of Arizona Water Resources Research Center and a member of the Arizona Governors Water Panel. He previously served on the board of the Edmonton Waste Management Center of Excellence from 2009 to 2011. Mr. Gysel has a Bachelor of Commerce Honors degree from the University of British Columbia and completed the Harvard Advanced Management program and the Institute of Corporate Directors Course.

Darcy Morris

Independent Director

Mr. Morris is a co-founder of Ewing Morris & Co. Investment Partners Ltd. (“Ewing Morris”), an independent investment manager. Prior to co-founding Ewing Morris in 2011, Mr. Morris was a portfolio manager at MacDougall, MacDougall & MacTier from 2009 to 2011 and an Associate at Burgundy Asset Management from 2004 to 2008. Mr. Morris currently serves on the boards of a number of private companies. He is a graduate of Queens University.

Ralph Young

Governance & Compensation Committee Chair, Independent Director

Mr. Young is the past president and CEO of Melcor Developments Ltd. (TSX:MRD) (“Melcor”), a publicly held real estate development and management company. Mr. Young joined Melcor in 1971, becoming President in 1997 and CEO in 2000. He retired as President in 2012 and as CEO in 2013. He has served as a director of Melcor since 1976 and is also a trustee of Melcor REIT (TSX: MR.UN). Mr. Young currently serves on the boards of numerous not for profit organizations and also served on the board of the Edmonton Regional Airport Authority from 2012 to 2017 and the University of Alberta from 2012 to 2016. Mr. Young has a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan and a Masters degree in Business Administration from the University of Alberta.

Board and Committee Charters

Board and Committee Chair Position Descriptions

Governance Policies

Audit Committee

  • Leonard Cornez (Chair)
  • Bruce Bentley
  • Joseph Gysel
  • Darcy Morris

Governance & Compensation Committee

  • Ralph Young (Chair)
  • Diane Brickner
  • Darcy Morris

Health, Safety and Environment Committee

  • Bruce Bentley (Chair)
  • Leonard Cornez
  • Diane Brickner